Celtic vs RB Leipzig: Champions League Preview & Potential Line-ups

A place in the Champions League knockouts is up for grabs as Celtic and RB Leipzig face each other in a high-stakes Group F encounter at Celtic Park in Glasgow.

Match Preview


This fourth Champions League matchday could be looked back on as a decisive one for Group F, with three of the four participants heading into the round with the potential of ending in second place. 

Celtic's hopes of making it out of the Champions League group stages for the first time since 2012/13 are hanging by a thread after they started their Group F winless in their opening three matches (D1, L2). 

Yet, with second-placed Shakhtar Donetsk only three points away, the 'Hoops could move up the standings if they can end an underwhelming six-match losing home streak in the Champions League. 

Another defeat would see Ange Postecoglou's side equal the longest-ever losing run in the Champions League home games set by Monaco between 2017-18.

RB Leipzig

Visiting RB Leipzig handed their stuttering Champions League season a lifeline with a 3-1 beating of Celtic last weekend, ending a two-game winless Group F start (D1, L1). 

Desperate to avoid back-to-back group stage eliminations, the Germans come into this encounter unbeaten in three successive games across all competitions (W2, D1). 

However, Marco Rose's men have struggled on their recent continental travels, suffering six defeats in their last eight Champions League away matches (W2). 

But neutrals could still be in for a treat, as those eight fixtures featured a whopping average of 4.5 goals per game, highlighting the potential for a high-scoring affair. 

Yet Leipzig's uneventful European form has seen them pick up just three triumphs across their last 11 Champions League outings (D1, L7).

Celtic vs RB Leipzig Potential Line-ups

Celtic (4-3-3): Joe Hart; Josip Juranovic, Kyle Carter-Vickers, Moritz Jenz, Greg Taylor; Reo Hatate, James McCarthy, Matt O’Riley; Daizen Maeda, Kyogo Furuhashi, Jota. 

RB Leipzig (4-2-3-1): Janis Blaswich; Mohamed Simakan, Willi Orban, Josko Gvardiol, David Raum; Kevin Kampl, Xaver Schlager; Dominik Szoboszlai, Christopher Nkunku, Timo Werner; Andre Silva.